Daily Archives: September 7th, 2006

(Almost) TGIF

It’s (almost) Friday and that means it’s time for Friday’s Feast:

Appetizer
Name 3 things that you are wearing today.
Blue flannel pajama pants, coral T-shirt and orange bandanna. Yes, seriously.

Soup
Who was the last person you hugged?
MJ. :)

Salad
What do you like to order from your favorite fast food place?
A meximelt from Taco Bell. I love them. I adore them and I really shouldn’t. When I worked at Taco Bell (circa 1987), I once found a spider in the pico sauce that is used in meximelts.

Main Course
What time of day do you usually feel most energized?

In the evenings, usually between 6pm and 11pm.

Dessert
Using the letters in your first name, write a sentence. (Example: Sweet unusual spaniels are nice.)
I don’t like these kinds of questions, so I’ll pass.

Tonight’s photo story features Max and is called “Busted!”:

Here is what the Minty Fresh Blanket looks like this evening:

The astute blog reader will notice that significant progress has been made. In the wrong direction.

I was happily knitting away on this tonight when I realized that I totally mucked up the pattern and stitch count. I couldn’t zero in on where it happened, so I put in a lifeline and frogged back to the border.

Ugh.

I don’t have the heart to knit on it tonight. I’m going to go to bed and read. Samantha is waiting for me.

New digs

Welcome to my new home on the web.   Thank you for making the trek over here to join me. I’ve been thinking about leaving Blogger for a month or so.  I had been surfing around to see what was out there and trying to decide if it was worth it to pack up and move to new digs. In the past couple weeks, I received almost daily emails from readers letting me know that my blog was acting up.   Most folks couldn’t comment and some of them couldn’t even get the page to load.  I did all that I could do to find the problem and then emailed Blogger.  After three of my emails went unanswered, I decided to take the plunge.Thank you to the people who did comment to tell me about your blog software.  I checked out all the suggestions and created test blogs on all the sites.   However, none of those sites made me  say “Yes!  I want to blog there!”

My decision was made for me when I saw the blog that Kristi and Otis set up at WordPress.  I started surfing around the WordPress site and loved almost everything I saw. 

One of my favorite features is the comments.  I will actually be sent your email address when you comment (what a concept – Blogger!).  I can finally respond to folks via email.   That was one thing that drove me nuts about Blogger:  I didn’t know who many of my commenters (is that a word?) were and I wanted to respond to many of them.

I started another test blog here at WordPress.  I intended to dual blog for awhile to make sure I liked it.  I also wanted to give myself time to learn new software and get everything set up. 

I thought it would take me two weeks to accomplish all of that.

It took me 24 hours. 

Yes, WordPress is that easy!  I think it’s even easier than Blogger.

I decided not to import my old Blogger blog into this blog.   I am going to leave the old blog up because there’s a lot of information there that I know I’ll need in the future.   I’m going to clean up the old blog a bit, but not post anything new there.

I have this main page completely set up and I will be adding additional pages as I have time.  (You can see where they’ll be by looking at the top of this page:  Next to the “Home” and “About” tabs are where these new pages will be.)   

I fully realize that, like all new loves, my affection for WordPress may fade a bit once we’ve spent more time together.  For now, I’m enjoying the honeymoon.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.