Thawing out while feasting.

When I did my snow day dance, I really should have clarified that I wanted a snow day with power.

I wasn’t able to get to work this morning. (Yay!) However, I lost power very early this morning and it didn’t come back on until around 11pm tonight. The downside of country living is that when I lose power, I also lose water and heat.

Thankfully, I thought ahead and filled up my washing machine with water last night. This allowed me to flush the toilet (via a bucket of water) today. I know, that’s TMI, but believe me: that was a huge deal!

I put all of my perishable food outside in the snow, so none of it spoiled. I also have a gas stove, so I could cook.

I spent today listening to the radio and knitting on my Fuzzy Feet. As the house got colder, I piled on more clothes. By the time the power came back on, I was wearing a T-shirt, two sweatshirts, sweatpants and two pairs of wool socks.

My camera batteries died before sunrise (and I obviously couldn’t recharge them), so I have no blizzard pictures. It was a doozy of a blizzard, though. There’s a snow drift in front of my house that is as high as the fence (four feet). The highway to my house is still closed, so I’m stranded at home.

However, I have heat, lights and water.

I have no complaints.

Here’s Friday’s Feast:

Appetizer
Create a new candle scent.
The smell of my mom’s spaghetti sauce.

Soup
Name one way you show affection to others.
Unexpected gifts and cards.

Salad
What is your favorite writing instrument?
A 0.9mm mechanical pencil.

Main Course
If you were given $25 to spend anywhere online, from which site would you buy?
Knit Picks, of course.

Dessert
Are you dressing up for Halloween? If so, what are you going to be?
No. I’ve never been into Halloween.

Here’s the first Fuzzy Foot:

And Kishka, posing again:

3 responses

  1. Well, at least you do have the heat and all … and the doggie to keep you company.

    My parents are in the Denver area and they got more than a foot of snow yesterday, but nothing like what you have.

    Stay warm and cozy!

    ~firefly

  2. Sounds like a wonderful day, well except the without power part. I haven’t had a blizzard that left me stranded at home in years!

    Give the pups a kiss for me.

  3. that sounds like so much fun. lucky you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.