Daily Archives: January 18th, 2007

Feasting, animals on parade and a new sock.

This week’s edition of Friday’s Feast:

Appetizer
Which television shows do you just refuse to miss?

The Amazing Race and Grey’s Anatomy.

Soup
Who did you last speak to on the telephone?

My parents.

Salad
How many pillows do you keep on your bed?

Five:  a body pillow, a king size pillow, two standard size pillow and a neck pillow.   I sleep with all of those pillows.  I don’t have any decorative pillows. 

Main Course
Name one addition to your computer (software, hardware, etc.) that you’d love to have.

An external hard drive. 
 

Dessert
What is your favorite foreign food?

I’m an insanely picky eater and am not fond of very many non-American foods.   My favorite “foreign” food would be hard tacos.  I adore them and could survive on them.

The animals were particularly cute today, so (of course) I took pictures.

Kishka:

Max:

Samantha:

Parker:

Kishka and Max:

The Emerald socks went on the needles earlier this evening:

Stick a fork in them.

Candy Cane Socks

What: Candy Cane Socks
Yarn: Knit Picks Superwash Bare, fingering weight. Dyed with Kool-Aid.
Needles: size 2, Knit Picks dpn’s
Pattern: basic cuff down pattern as outlined in Knitting Rules, page 144-145*
Date started: 1/10/07

Date finished: 1/18/07
Lesson Learned: None. I just need to be careful of ladders

Destination: my feet!

* Modifications to pattern: after 4″ cuff, I decreased to 60 stitches (from 68). Decrease was done over four rows. The heel flap was done on 30 stitches and the leg is 7″.

This is another skein of yarn from my dyeing session last month. You can’t really see it in the pictures, but I used 5 or 6 different colors of red/pink. The result isn’t really variegated, but there are subtle changes of color throughout the sock.

The next pair of socks will go on the needles in the morning. I’m in the groove now and can’t wait to start another pair.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.