Daily Archives: April 17th, 2007

Two more pairs of socks (kind of).

When the sock bug bit me a few months ago, I really didn’t know what I was doing. The first two pair of socks I knit this year were a couple inches too short. I’ve been looking at them in my dresser drawer for the past couple of months and wishing they fit. So, I decided to do something about it. I’ve spent the past couple of days unraveling the toes and reknitting them. Besides getting socks that fit, I’ve become very good at the kitchener stitch.

Here are the Splash of Red socks, before and after:

And the Candy Cane socks, before and after:

I’ve also done some unexpected yarn dying. The other day I was searching for the dogs’ heartworm pills (why do I always misplace those?) and found a stash of Paas egg dye. I don’t remember buying it, but I must have planned on dying yarn and then forgot I had the dye. I had one skein of Bare leftover from my December Kool-Aid dying session, so I tossed it in the ‘pot’ with some egg dye:

I like Paas dying a lot more than Kool Aid dying. It was much easier and a lot less messy. Here’s the finished yarn:

I didn’t get a chance to blog Saturday’s Sky this week and it’s just too gorgeous to skip:

Samantha continues to love her new rabbit:

And I finally got a shot of her sleeping on her back:

And here’s Kishka, smooshed into her favorite chair:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.