Daily Archives: May 1st, 2007

We have stripes.

Stripe-y Socks

What: Stripe-y Socks
Yarn: One skein of Trekking in color 144
Needles: sizes 1 & 3, KnitPicks dpn’s*

Pattern: Just a basic sock, with guidance from More Sensational Knitted Socks**

Date started: 4/11/07

Date finished: 5/1/07

Lesson Learned: Go with first instinct on needle size.

Destination: my feet!

* I started with size 3 dpn’s, but when I got to the stockinette stitch I didn’t like how loose the fabric looked. I ripped back to the end of the cuff, switched to size 1 dpn’s and increased the stitch count.

** CO 64 with size 3. Knit 2″ in K2P2. Switch to size 1 and increase one stitch every other row until there are 72 stitches. 7″ leg, stockinette heel with garter edge and 8″ foot before toe decreases.

I was starting to sweat near the end of the these socks, but I won this round of the ‘is there enough yarn?’ game.

Barely:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.