Daily Archives: May 30th, 2007

Health is not valued till sickness comes. ~ Dr. Thomas Fuller (1654-1734)

This is the most exciting bit of knitting that I’ve knit in a long time:

It’s just an inch of 2×2 ribbing, but it makes me exceedingly happy. It’s the only sock knitting I’ve done in almost a month. With the exception of the Rock-a-thon, it’s also the only knitting I’ve done.

I’ve been battling back pain for a few months and a few weeks ago it got to the point where it was disabling to every aspect of my life. I hobbled to my doctor, who referred me to a physical therapist. The PT declared me a classic case of a twisted pelvis.

Yes, it’s as painful as the description in the link makes it sound. I’ve broken bones before and had surgery. This pain is worse than any of that. So, I am a model PT patient. In addition to the formal therapy I’m doing my stretches, lying on my side as much as possible and walking with a cane (just call me The Gimp).

Up until today, I didn’t think I could knit because it hurts too much to sit. After my PT appointment today, I met Felicia at Pikes Perk. We spent the afternoon knitting, gabbing and watching thunderstorms roll over the city. I accomplished that tiny bit of sock knitting while relaxing on a couch. That inspired me to rearrange my couch pillows so I can knit and still keep weight off my problem area.

You have no idea how happy this makes me. Suddenly, being ordered off my feet doesn’t sound so bad.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.