Daily Archives: September 9th, 2007

A hobby a day keeps the doldrums away. ~ Phyllis Mcginley

The sock bug has struck again. I think it’s because the beastly heat has gone (finally!) and the cool weather has turned my thoughts to how much I love wearing my hand knit socks.

I finished my Pink Clouds socks:

Pink Clouds Socks

What: Pink Clouds Socks
Yarn: 2 skeins of Claudia Handpainted Yarn in Pink Cloud
Needles: size 1, Knit Picks dpn’s
Pattern: Basic stockinette socks with 1 1/2″ of 2×2 ribbing on the cuff and an eye of partridge heel

Date started: 5/8/07

Date finished: 9/9/07
Lesson Learned: Pull Kitchener tight as you go, not when you’re finished.

Destination: my feet!

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you to the bloggers who warned about the short yardage on this yarn. I knit short socks and was left with this much yarn:

I’ve read rave reviews of this yarn and I’m kind of puzzled. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it (it’s soft, the colors are nice, it was a pleasure to knit, etc.), but it just didn’t make my skirt fly up. I would knit with it again, but it goes on my ‘just another sock yarn’ list.

I’m going to start another pair of stockinette socks soon.  I just have to decide which yarn to use.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.