Daily Archives: December 1st, 2007

A dog owns nothing, yet is seldom dissatisfied. ~ Irish Proverb

Thank you to everyone who took the time to send a comment and/or email in response to my last post. All of your kind words were very comforting and I appreciate each word and the time it took to send them.

I also want to thank the people who emailed to ask me if I was okay (since I’m not posting much anymore). I am okay. The lack of posting is due to a lack of time and nothing else. My life has become very busy lately and knitting time is rare. I usually only knit on the weekend. The lack of knitting has led to the lack of blogging.

I must apologize for this being a blog of doom and gloom this year. It seems like 2007 is throwing everything it has at me and I’m afraid that it’s not stopping anytime soon.

This morning, Samantha was diagnosed with degenerative myelopathy. Long time blog readers may remember that I’ve been down this road before and that this road doesn’t have a happy ending.

I don’t think there’s a good side to this, but I am grateful for two things: I am grateful that Max and Sam did not have the disease at the same time. And, I’m grateful that the disease didn’t show itself in Samantha until her later years.

Other than that, this just sucks. But, I know what we’re facing (which I didn’t know when Max and I walked this road) and I’m ready to take it on. Mostly, I’m just going to continue being the best damn dog mom I can.

Here’s a recent picture of Sam and her bunny:

Shortly after I took this picture, Sam eviscerated the poor bunny, but we don’t need to talk about that, do we? :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.