Acquiring a dog may be the only opportunity a human ever has to choose a relative. ~ Mordecai Siegal

I’d like to introduce you to Sadie.

Sadie is five years old. Samantha, Kishka and I brought her home from the Humane Society yesterday. But, I’m getting ahead of myself.

I stopped at the Humane Society Thursday night after work. I’ve been thinking about another cat and/or another dog for a little while now. I decided to check out the cats (since the last thing I thought I needed was another dog).

I checked out all the cats. Twice. And none of them caught my eye. There were plenty of older cats (over age 8), but none of them felt like my cat.

There was a row of dogs across from one of the rows of cats and a yellow lab caught my eye. I’ve never thought about a lab, but I certainly wasn’t opposed to it. She was five years old (the perfect age since she’s not too young, yet younger than Kishka) and I couldn’t stop staring at her. I assumed it was just general dog lust, so I looked at all the dogs that were there.

I found myself back where I started: staring at this yellow lab until the announcement came that it was closing time (when I arrived it was already too late to adopt or even visit an animal so that’s why I was just watching her).

I thought about this dog all evening and decided I’d let Sam and Kish make the decision for me. Odds were, either they wouldn’t like her or she wouldn’t like them. Sam and Kish had met another dog last month and that dog hated Kishka. I was probably getting all worked up for nothing.

The next morning, I was at the Humane Society when they opened. I met the yellow lab and knew instantly that if the dog meeting didn’t work out, I would be very disappointed. She was just a bundle of love and I adored her the moment I met her. Sam and Kish had the last vote, though. If that meeting didn’t go well, this dog wasn’t mine.

The Humane Society worker took her outside and I brought the girls around to meet her. Everyone sniffed and then they ignored each other. Perfect! I breathed an audible sigh of relief and the Humane Society worker smiled and said, “I think she’s perfect for you and your family”.

I went inside, completed the paperwork and walked out with a new furry friend.

I immediately began soliciting my friends for possible names (her name was Annie, but it didn’t suit her and she didn’t answer to it). There were many good ones in contention, but Sadie seems to suit her the best. I’m working on getting her to answer to it and so far, it’s working.

I know it’s impolite to speak of a lady’s weight, but Sadie is, well, enormous. She goes to the vet next Saturday and I’m dying to know how much she weighs. My first goal is to get her down to a healthy weight. She’s so large that she has a hard time just sitting, the poor girl.

I’m always so saddened at the number of wonderful animals at the Humane Society. It really was mind boggling. If you’re thinking about a new furry friend, please check out your local shelters. There are literally dozens (often hundreds) of fantastic dogs and cats and they are just waiting for you.

This is a huge soapbox topic for me. I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve been told that shelter dogs are inferior to dogs from breeders. That just isn’t true. In fact, I think they’re better than dogs from breeders. Besides the cost (I could never justify paying a breeder the insane amount of money that they charge), these dogs just seem to be so grateful to have a second chance.

Author Peter Mayle said it best: “A found dog never takes anyone or anything for granted. Somewhere deep in the recesses of the orphan psyche, never entirely forgotten even after years of good living and kindly, obedient owners, memories of hard times linger. And this….tends to give lost and found dogs a special appreciation of what the world can offer.”

If you go to the shelter, please consider an older dog. Yes, puppies are cute, but they’re also a lot more work and a crap shoot in terms of personality. When I met Sadie, I was able to see her personality and know that she would be a perfect fit for me and my girls.

There’s another perk to adopting an older dog: she slept through the night last night and is house trained.

She also snores like a freight train. :)

26 responses

  1. twobarkingdogs | Reply

    Best of luck with Sadie. She’s a real beauty.

  2. Oh My.. I love labs.. Sadie is gorgeous.. Seems such a sweetie.. I’d love to get a dog but I don’t have time to walk one.. Wow.. Bless her little canine heart. :)

  3. She is gorgeous. Congratulations! I agree — shelter dogs are the best (my newest boy was supposed to be a foster. OOPS!) What a face on that Sadie– no wonder you couldn’t get her out of your head.

  4. Hooray for Sadie! I inherited my dad’s little dog when my dad died. The dog is about Cocker Spaniel size, and had weighed as much as 70 lbs.

    !!!!!!!?????!!!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    He was 53 lbs when I took him to the vet to be checked out after my dad died, and he’s still losing weight. He’s fitting into our little pack better than I expected him to. I hope you have a great time with Sadie and the other gals. :)

  5. :::happy dancing:::

    How fortunate for you both to have found each other! May this be a long and loving relationship.

    Fwiw…overweight people tend to snore more too…perhaps she’s got a little doggie sleep apnea? doing the diet thing may help that (or not…but one can hope.)

    Congratulations on the newest family member!

    ~hugs to all~

  6. Look at those loving eyes!

  7. Those are incredible pictures of your new family member! I have tears in my eyes, i”m not kidding. This doggy looks so happy, I could just hug her and cuddle her. I’m so glad you found her, and are able to take her home with you. I’m looking forward to many more pictures of all your doggies! Our next dog(s), will definately be a shelter dog, no more breeder dogs for us. But I hope it will be a long while until then.

  8. kristi and otis | Reply

    Congrats! She’s just gorgeous and how lucky you are to have her! I love a good adoption story – thanks for making my Easter.

  9. Oh boy, who could resist that doggy smile? She really seems happy at her new home. Hopefully, the snoring will go away once she loses some weight.

    As for breeder’s dogs, I am tired of listening to owner’s complaining about all these genetic diseases they have to deal with due to heavy inbreeding by careless breeders. Totally insane.

  10. Congratulations! Sadie is beautiful, and has eyes that pull you right into her heart. I’ve had labs before. They are intelligent dogs who love life and their owners.

    We adopted a Min Pin last summer through a rescue adoption clinic held here in our town. I, too, believe in giving dogs a second chance.

  11. OMG what a *LOVE* she is beautiful (and a perfect name!)

    Giving homes to older dogs is *such* a great thing, congrats! (Tally was an adult-adopted dog and we couldn’t have been happier)

  12. Welcome, Sadie! I look forward to seeing more pictures of you with your sisters.

    I agree that shelter dogs are the best! People don’t believe it when they hear that my dogs, both purebreds, came from the pound.

  13. Welcome Sadie! She is an adorable dog! I’m so happy you found each other! :)

  14. What a sweetie Sadie is! Kudos on your choice of new family member : )
    Both our kitties are from an animal shelter, and I too find it incredibly sad that so many animals find themselves in shelters (or worse) instead of in loving homes.

  15. blogfree Jessica | Reply

    Sadie is BEAUTIFUL…and you are a hero for adopting a shelter dog. So glad that she fits right in.
    This post just brought a huge smile to my day…she is a loverly girl!

  16. My namesake?
    lolol
    Congrats!
    (((hugs)))

  17. Yay for Sadie!!! How wonderful for Sadie and for you and Kishka and Sam. And so great that she’s from the SPCA. All four of my dogs are rescues, as are the two cats, and I’ll never go through a breeder! I’m doing the happy dance of joy for you guys! Dance, dance, dance!

  18. I am glad you got a new pet. And I am glad that you got one from a shelter. That’s where my Mama got me. Did you see any of my bunny cousins there?

  19. My Mom got me from a shelter, too. She says “Sadie” is a lovely name. I had many names before I came to my home and my Mom said “Maxine” was a lousy name, that’s why she changed it.

  20. Congratulations on your lovely new family member. Bet the snoring stops once Sadie is back to her normal healthy weight..

  21. Congrats on Sadie! She’s cute and looks so happy to see you. Glad that Sam and Kishka like her. Nothing wrong with a pound puppy or a puppy from a breeder – it really depends on the individual family’s needs.

    So funny that you got a new family member right after I did. Good luck with her!

  22. What a beautiful face! She looks like a love.

  23. Sadie is beautiful. I am so glad you have made space for one more of God’s little critters.

  24. Sadie is such a gorgeous dog! I love the wise look she has in her eyes. I definitely have a soft spot in my heart for yellow labs…I have one myself! You’re definitely in for many years of lots of love…exactly what labs are great at giving!

  25. […] highlight of 2008 was definitely finding Sadie.  She is such a joy to have around and I firmly believe that she was destined to be my […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.