Daily Archives: June 7th, 2009

Never let the demands of tomorrow interfere with the pleasures and excitement of today. ~ Meredith Willson, The Music Man

My camera arrived home last week and I immediately broke in the new lens by (what else?) taking pictures of the dogs:

Sadie

Kishka and her tennis ball

Shortly after the camera returned the dogs and I went hiking.   Here are my favorite pictures (and video) from that trip:
View from parking lot

Stream crossing

Waterfalls

Girls in front of waterfalls

Have you ever tried to pose a dog in front of a waterfall?  It’s quite amusing  (“Sit.  Stay.  Look pretty.  Good girl.  No, stay.  Don’t look at the waterfall.  Good girl.  Stay there. Look at me.  Good girl”).

Sadie poses in front of the waterfall

Kishka watches her sister

The entire photo/video set is here.

I have been on a sock knitting kick for months now and lately I’ve stopped being monogamous and have been spreading my sock love around.  (I guess you could say I’m  a sock knitting hussy.)

These three pairs of socks are being knit from yarn that I dyed:

Socks

Socks

Socks

This pair is from a sock blank I received in a swap:

Socks

I am test knitting this pattern for the designer (isn’t it fantastic?):
Side of sock

I also have a blanket freshly on the needles:

Blanket

I was absolutely overwhelmed and a little gobsmacked at the comments and emails that encouraged me to continue with my photo-a-day project.  Thank you so much for your kind words and the inspiration to continue.  I really appreciate it and you almost talked me into continuing the project.   However, I have decided not to continue the project.

I enjoyed taking a lot of photos and I did learn a lot in the short time that I took a picture every day.  However, the bottom line is that the commitment the project required ended up sucking a lot of fun out of both blogging and photography.  I had many days where I happily snapped a ton of pictures.  But, I also had more than a few days where I absolutely didn’t feel like taking a single picture and did not enjoy the process at all.

The project did teach me something, though.  Before the project I always had pictures I wanted to toss up on the blog, but I felt like if I posted a picture I needed to do a whole blog post about it and sometimes I just don’t feel like talking (seriously).  This project taught me that I can just post a picture and people will find it interesting.

So, moving forward I will sometimes do a ‘proper’ blog post and sometimes I’ll just post pictures that I’ve taken.

But, before we move forward, I’m going to look back for a moment. I went through all of my photos of the day and these are my favorites:

My creation

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.