Daily Archives: September 2nd, 2009

A sprint to the finish.

Back in May, I cast on a baby blanket for a close friend of mine.

Two weekends ago, the blanket looked like this:

One week before the shower.

This was also just seven days before her baby shower.

Ack!

All that week I came home from work and knit the evening away. On Saturday (the day before the shower), I knit all day and far into the night. I took a four hour break to sleep and continued knitting on Sunday morning. 30 minutes before I had to leave for the shower, I finished the blanket:

Blanket

The mother loved it and it was a big hit at the shower.

Close up

Close up of cables and lace

I tend to procrastinate, but I’ve never cut a knitting deadline this close. I still can’t believe I finished it.

Lace section

Cable

Details are on my Ravelry page.

Close up

I haven’t knit since I cast off this blanket, but I’ve been eyeing all the socks I have in progress.

I think the sock bug is about to bite me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.