Daily Archives: December 31st, 2009

New Year’s eve is like every other night; there is no pause in the march of the universe, no breathless moment of silence among created things that the passage of another twelve months may be noted; and yet no man has quite the same thoughts this evening that come with the coming of darkness on other nights. ~Hamilton Wright Mabie

I said this about last year, but I can’t believe I’m already looking back on 2009. It was another fast year and another year full of knitting.

I finished a sweater this year:

Cozy new sweater

Sadly, I haven’t worn it because the yarn grew a lot and it’s just too big. At some point I plan on ripping it out and using the yarn for a different sweater. (I adore this shade of green.)

I knit a blanket for a friend’s baby:

Close up

I knit a dog walking hat for a friend’s husband:

Hat

2009 was mostly the year of socks. I spent the first half of the year unemployed and I spent most of that time (when I wasn’t job hunting) knitting socks:

I have more socks on the needles.

This pair is almost finished:

Socks

I’m anxious to finish these socks because I love the color:

Socks

I’m also anxious to finish these socks because I love this pattern and this yarn:

Finished sock

I started this scarf and hope to finish it by next winter (I’m back to being obsessed with socks so it’s taken a back seat):

Scarf

I started out the new year with my 365 project and the intent to document the year by posting one picture every day. I lasted 139 days before my camera broke. When the camera was repaired I had lost interest in the project. So, 2009 taught me that I’m not as interested in photography as I thought I was. I do like to take pictures, but (if forced to make a choice) I would rather do other things.

When I did my end-of-the-year post on 12/31/08, I had one big wish for 2009: to get through the year without any of my pets dying. I’m happy to say that my wish came true.

Sadie has lost 18 lbs. since I adopted her and has discovered that she loves to run:

100b3162

Sadie hauls butt at the dog park

Kishka spent a lot of time this year doing the things that she loves most.

Rolling in the grass:

Kishka mid roll

Keeping the tennis ball away from Sadie:

Kishka looks behind her

And digging holes (note the dirty nose):

Kishka with a dirty nose

What did Romeo do this year? He bossed around his sisters and surveyed his kingdom.

Romeo

I’ll end this post (and this year) with one of my very favorite pictures. It was taken in the car on the way home from the dog park. They were both exhausted.

Uploaded from iPhone

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.