Daily Archives: January 10th, 2010

Slow down and enjoy life. It’s not only the scenery you miss by going too fast – you also miss the sense of where you are going and why. ~ Eddie Cantor (1892 – 1964)

After some bitterly cold weather this week, the weekend has been warm (relatively) and sunny. The girls and I headed out to our favorite park.

The stream where they like to splash was completely frozen:

Frozen stream

There were a few slips (just after I snapped this picture, Kishka’s four legs went in four different directions):

Kishka on the ice again

At one point, Sadie jumped out of the frozen stream and when she hit the ice covered stream bank she did nearly a full backwards somersault before landing back where she started. Sadly, I have no pictures of that (she was okay, just a bit startled). As for me, I was doubled over in laughter. :)

I always love watching how Sadie looks to Kishka for guidance:

Follow the leader

Following her sister

I’m so grateful that they’re such good friends. Sometimes I think they only keep me around to earn money to buy dog food and to use my opposable thumbs to open the locked dog food container. Otherwise, they’d be quite happy to kick me out and travel the road of life together.

Buddies

We did a lot of walking and they did a lot of running. This necessitated a quick nap:

Sadie catnaps

Kishka (of course) did some squirrel hunting. Here she is scanning the stream bank:

Kishka looking for squirrels

And here is her “wait quietly for one to come to the ground” technique:

Kish

The quality of this picture isn’t great, but it perfectly captures Sadie’s “I’m so happy I’m at the park” face:

Happy Sadie

There has been knitting this week. I don’t have a lot of time to knit, but I’m making good progress on the socks:

Film Noir socks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.