Daily Archives: March 21st, 2010

A good dog never dies. He always stays. He walks besides you on crisp autumn days when frost is on the fields and winter’s drawing near. His head is within our hand in his old way. ~ Mary Carolyn Davies

Thank you to everyone who commented, emailed and sent PM’s via Ravelry to express condolences on the loss of Kishka.  I appreciate all of the kind words and stories that you shared with me.   As many people commented, Kish’s death was very sudden and unexpected.   I think I’m finally getting over the sheer shock of it and am starting to process what happened.

One thing I’m getting used to is a quiet house.   I knew that Kish wooed a lot, but I didn’t realize just how much she wooed.   My house is so darn quiet now.   It’s kind of spooky.

I’m also showering Sadie with attention.   She and Kishka bonded from the very beginning and I knew that Kish’s death would be rough on Sadie.   For the first few days, Sadie seemed to look for Kishka.   She was constantly walking around the house and yard.    She’s stopped the searching and now she just seems depressed.   I realize I’m anthropomorphizing her, but there’s no way around it:   the dog has got the blues.

Sadie

Weekends are for outdoor adventures and that continues.    Hiding in my house eating chocolate will not bring Kishka back (a tactic I have tried) so last weekend Sadie and I headed out for our weekly adventure.   I couldn’t face our usual park, so we went to a different one.    Sadie had to stay on her leash at this park, but we still had fun.

The scenery was beautiful.
Red rocks

Sadie

Rocks

The trails weren’t crowded.

Sadie heads down the trail

Sadie enjoyed leading the way.

Sadie leads the way

She got impatient with all my picture taking.

Sadie waits for me

And we found a gorgeous spot to rest.

Sadie rests

This weekend we went back to our regular park.  It was a gorgeous day.

Foothills

There were even birds singing.

Singing bird

Sadie has always been a follower, not a leader, so for the first hour or so she stuck close by my side.   Kishka always led the way and I don’t think Sadie quite knew what to do without her there.    After some encouragement from me, she ventured off on her own.

Sadie goes exploring

Sadie

Always keeping an eye on me, of course.

Sadie

There was snow to eat.

Sadie likes snow

A stream to splash in.

Sadie

Sadie

And, a hole to dig.

Sadie digging

This last one took me by surprise. I’ve never seen Sadie dig a hole, but she dug a huge one yesterday.

What?

Sadie also found a friend to play Chase with her.

Sadie plays chase

She never came close to catching him, but she had fun trying.

Chase

She was a very tired girl when we got home.

Sadie in sunbeam

There has been knitting around here.   I finished the Film Noir socks last weekend.

Film Noir socks

The yarn is simply lovely.

Film Noir socks close up

And the skein size generous (I have size 10 feet).

Leftover yarn

I also cast on a new pair and have completed both feet.

Socks

Today is a very special day for Sadie.

Sadie

It’s her anniversary. It was two years ago today that she came to live with me. We’re going to go for a walk later and then tonight she’ll get her present:

Busy Bone

Sadie rarely gets such treats, so I’m sure she’s going to love it.

Sadie slurps

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.