Daily Archives: August 1st, 2010

In summer, the song sings itself. ~ William Carlos Williams

I’ve snapped a lot of pictures over the past couple of weeks. Here are my favorites.

The prairie:

Prairie

I pulled off the road to take this picture. I love how the clouds and plains seem endless. It seems like many people think the prairie is boring, but I think it’s beautiful.

The stream at the park:

Stream

It’s been horribly hot here so even when we go to the park in the early morning we spend most of our time in the water. The dogs love to splash and run through it.

Running together

Monsoon season is here and that means lots of clouds in the afternoon. Here’s some over the foothills.

Clouds over foothills

The Black Eyed Susans are out in force.

Wildflowers

Wildflowers

You can also see the flowers in this picture of Luka running up a hill.

Luka

It’s been a beastly hot summer here. Luka spends most of his time lying in front of the screen door, waiting for a breeze.

Luka

Our afternoon storms don’t always bring rain, but always have thunder and lightning. If it’s thundering we don’t go for our walk. This makes Luka sad.

Luka looks outside

We’ve made a couple of trips to the park, including a trip after work. (The dogs were SHOCKED. We never go during the week.) I liked how different the light was in the evening.

Sadie

Sadie

Summer fun means a lot of naps. Sadie has been perfecting her napping technique.

Sadie Maxine

Knitting progress has been very, very slow. When it’s nearly 100 degrees I can’t bring myself to play with wool. I do hope to finish a pair of socks soon, though.

EDIT: Most of my favorite bloggers are on Blogger. Blogger has decided that I can’t comment on their blogs. Every single time I get an error message. If you’re on Blogger, know that I’m reading, but I can’t say anything. :(

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.