Daily Archives: August 26th, 2011

In summer, the song sings itself. ~ William Carlos Williams

It’s been a summer of adventure around here.

Sadie and Luka

Every weekend has been spent hitting the trails.

Sadie and Luka

I enjoy hiking on the trails while the dogs prefer to run around like wild animals.

Sadie and Luka

Sadie and Luka

Sadie and Luka

Sadie and Luka

A few weeks ago our weekend adventure became a little too exciting. We were enjoying a walk through the forest when the dogs took off through the underbrush. This isn’t unusual. They often take off and chase rodents or birds.

I stopped to wait for them. The dogs had run down into a ravine so I was up on hill looking down at them. All of a sudden, movement in a tree (about 50 yards in front of me) caught my attention. Sitting in that tree (and looking right at me) were three black bear cubs. The dogs were at the base of the tree, jumping up and trying to get at the bear cubs.

Yes, my dogs treed three bear cubs. Clearly, they have a death wish.

I was remarkably calm as terror swept through every cell of my body. Where there are bear cubs, there is a mama bear. Mama bears are big. Mama bears are not very happy when their cubs are threatened. Mama bears can run 30mph. I am not a petite person (I’m nearly 6′ tall), but I’m no match for an adult bear. I quickly looked behind me (fully expecting to see mama bear) but saw nothing.

I called the dogs to me. Sadie came immediately. Luka ignored me and kept trying to climb the tree to get at the cubs. I called him twice more and the third time he ran back to me. I pointed down the trail and shouted “Go! Run!”. I have no idea why they obeyed a command they’d never heard before (perhaps they could hear the fear in my voice and/or were shocked that I was yelling at them) but the dogs took off running and did not leave the trail. They just ran.

I did not run (running around a bear is not smart) but I walked as quickly as I could. (Side note: I had no idea I could move that fast with a 20lbs. backpack.) I constantly checked over my shoulder to see if mama bear had found us. We kept up this pace for a couple of miles until we reached the reservoir. It was only then that I realized how horribly the whole thing could have ended. As the dogs splashed in the water I sat on the sand and trembled.

Sadie

Sadie and Luka

Luka

Sadie and Luka

Sadie

Sadie and Luka

The weather has cooled off a tiny bit (instead of being 100, it’s only 90) so the dogs have been able to do more running/playing. They especially love to play and run on the beach.

Chasing

Running

Running

Playing

Here’s a series of pictures of the dogs playing. I didn’t expect all of these pictures to come out, but they did and I like the story they tell.

Luka asks Sadie to play.

Playing

Sadie responds.

Playing

Sadie comes to a sudden stop and nearly gets taken out by Luka.

Playing

They start running together.

Playing

Running off together

Sadie veers off to come back to me while Luka keeps running.

Sadie veers off.  Luka keeps running

Luka realizes his buddy is missing.

Luka realizes Sadie turned around

Luka turns to catch up

And he runs to catch up.

Luka runs to catch up

Luka catches up

During our adventures I’ve managed to snap some nice portraits of both dogs.

Sadie

Luka

I love how happy Sadie looks in this picture.

Sadie strikes a pose

Meanwhile, Luka looks like he just wants me to hurry up.

Luka

I like these close up shots, too.

Sadie

Luka

Sadie

Luka

Finally…Milo’s training for the sleep Olympics continues at a very strong pace.

Milo

Milo

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.