Think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy. ~ Anne Frank

What a difference a day makes.

Last night: sad cone-head.

Sad conehead

This afternoon: happy boy.

Luka

Before:

Luka

After:

Luka - The Dog Formerly Known As Conehead

Today was an exciting day: Luka’s stitches were removed! I can now transition him back to regular food and we can go for two 15 minute walks a day. He still can’t run or go outside off leash (two more weeks before he’s released to full activity), but it’s very exciting.

I’ve put my house back together (I had to move all of the living room and bedroom furniture to accommodate the cone) and we’ve gone on our first walk. To say walking made Luka happy is an understatement:

Happy Luka after his first walk in two weeks

I was able to get a picture of Luka’s cute shaved belly and his scar (the scar isn’t really jagged…it’s just how he’s positioned).

Luka shaved belly and scar

Going back a few days…Luka’s been on a chicken and rice diet. I was boiling chicken earlier this week and Luka took it upon himself to supervise the operation.

Luka guarding the chicken cooking on the stove

Sadie is quite bored with all of the attention I’ve showered on her little brother.

Sadie

Sadie had a check up today, too, and the ulcer on her eye is fully healed.

I don’t think Milo has noticed that the cone is gone. He’s still hanging out under the table.

Milo hanging out under the table

I didn’t realize until I brought stiches-free Luka home how stressed I’ve been about him opening his incision. I’ve spent the last two weeks hovering over him. When I was at work I worried if he was behaving at home. During the night I checked on him every time he stirred. I guess you could say I’ve been holding my breath for two weeks.

Finally, I can exhale.

Luka

9 responses

  1. I was frantically scrolling through your past posts to see what made poor Luka don the cone of shame. Poor boy (and poor you)! I am glad he is on the mend and that the obstructions were removed with success. Good luck keeping bouncy boy still. If he’s like Mingus, he takes after Tigger.

    1. Thanks, Stacy!

      Tigger is a very appropriate description. He seems to have calmed a bit since we’ve taken our two walks today. I have a feeling he’s going to sleep better, too, since he can sleep in his crate tonight. He couldn’t fit in the crate with the cone and he LOVES his crate.

      Needless to say, all garbage cans in this house are now behind baby locks. I also baby locked every single cabinet in the house to keep a step ahead of him.

  2. So glad to see that everyone’s getting back to normal!

  3. I’m so happy for all of you! He’s such a handsome boy, and there’s no bad photo of him. Always makes me smile to see your gang.

  4. yay for Luka! It is a big relief when you know they are healing. In a few weeks he`ll be back to normal flying down the trail after Sadie :)

  5. Yay Luka! Be a good patient and heal well and completely! And don’t scare us all like that again. :)

  6. Oh my! I’m so sorry you went through that with poor Luka but so happy he is ok!

    I nearly lost my Katie about a month ago, and I know the terror of that drive to the ER vet. And the HOLY S#@! at seeing the vet bill. (Katiebelle is perfectly fine now, back to her sweet sassy self.)

    {{{HUGS}}} to all of you from me, Dylan, and Katie

  7. So glad Luka is healing well!! Prayer for continued healing.

  8. Oh my, I missed all the stress… I am glad it all came to a happy ending. At least he certainly looks happy, you, my friend, must be exhausted. Caring for a sick doggy takes its toll.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.