I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may – light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful. ~ John Constable

My 365 project has come to a screeching halt.

Shortly after taking yesterday’s photo, my camera broke.   Thankfully, it’s under warranty.   Not so thankfully, the warranty repair center is halfway across the country.

This afternoon I packed up my beloved camera, insured the hell out of it and sent it on its way.

I made it 139 days.  Some of the days were a lot of fun and some were agony.  I learned a lot, but I’m not sure I like being obligated to produce a picture each day.   During the time my camera is in the hospital I’m going to figure out whether or not to continue this project for the remaining 226 days.

I definitely need to sleep on it.

10 responses

  1. kristi and otis | Reply

    For what’s it’s worth…I like the pics and hoping you’ll carry on…

  2. I agree with Kristi. I have been enjoying them :-)

  3. Sorry about your camera. Well, the time you have spent doing the 365, I have found enjoyable. Hopefully you’ll still blog, even if you don’t continue with the 365.

  4. Oh no! Sorry this happened. I liked knowing that whenever I had time to catch up, I’d get to see lots of Colorado skies, lovely doggies and an occassional surprise… I hope your camera comes back unscathed and that you can resume you project. Of course, if it becomes stressful, no one can begrudge you leaving a few days blank once in a while.

  5. Sorry about the camera. Looks like you have good examples of ‘sleeping on it’, though. :)

  6. I enjoyed it too. You produced wonderful photos, and I don’t mean only the cute pups ones! It’s a pity you got interupted by technology.

  7. I am a fan as well and hope that you will continue. Where else am I going to get that gorgeous Colorado fix on a regular basis? And of course the pooches!

  8. I too, just found your blog and think you have produced some admirable work.

    For the pictures of your companions alone, I think you’ve hit gold. The scrapbook of the dogs you could put together by now is priceless on a personal level, and very high quality as far as general pictures of dogs playing & happy. Perhaps, if nothing else, you may consider donating some of the shots to the SPCA, copyright-free, for adoption promotion materials? Happy dog photos, loving dog photos. The high action ones or ones of them both together doing different things but both caught in great expressions, are really good work. Also, your use of natural lighting seems to be really good.

    Aaaahhhhh the horizon… well I enjoy shots of it a lot, because I live in a large north-south river valley in Massachusetts, and by “valley” I do mean we have obstructions called hills or mountains along all our east and west borders. Where I live personally, I have both blocking my views of sunrise and sunset (due to an annoying set of extra mountains plunked into the middle of the valley!) Often I’ll drive to a spot where the valley is wide just so I can get to see the sunrise/set colors and the sun’s orb in gigantic mode, moving over the distant little ranges which border our region.

    Aahhhh, clouds… I do so love looking at the sky. Love, too, viewing others trying to capture what they see. If I may boldly suggest, look at pictures on meteorological phenomena websites to get ideas of what to shoot. A lot of pro photographers are obsessed with the sky, clouds, and sun-ray effects (or became pros due to their sky obsession). By clicking around among what pros do to frame the interesting parts of their photos, even when they’re rushed, you may feel inspiration. I do :)

  9. I love your photo a day pictures! Don’t stop! :)

  10. perchance2knit | Reply

    Don’t stop, don’t stop! I love your photos. You’ve got an exceptional eye for composition and choice of subject material. Here’s hoping that the camera arrives home soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.