You will never find time for anything. If you want the time, you must make it. ~ Charles Buxton

:: tap tap ::

Is this thing on?

It’s been quite some time since I posted so (of course) I have a ton of pictures.

I lost my knitting mojo for several weeks, but recently found it and started knitting again. I’ve been working on two projects.

Socks:

Socks

Scarf (started last winter):

Scarf

Besides knitting and dogs, one of my passions in life is classic movies. TCM (Turner Classic Movies) recently had a traveling exhibit of movie memorabilia and it stopped in a nearby city.

This Oscar was awarded to Casablanca:

Casablanca Oscar

This costume was worn by Rudolph Valentino in The Sheik. The detail on this costume was amazing. The colors were still vibrant. It’s hard to believe this costume was used in 1921. It looks brand new.

Rudolph Valentino costume from The Sheik

This costume was worn by Christopher Plummer in The Sound Of Music. My only complaint about the exhibit is that the lighting was awful. It was impossible for me to get a good photograph of this costume. In person the dark colors of this costume ware still rich and the details are striking.

Christopher Plummer costume from The Sound of Music

This dress was worn by Vivien Leigh in Gone With The Wind. In the movie this dress was a vibrant blue/grey. It has definitely faded a bit and has some noticeable damage (stains and repaired rips/holes), but it’s gorgeous. The detail on the dress is stunning. The most surprising thing about the dress is that it’s corduroy! I had no idea.

Scarlett O'Hara dress from Gone With The Wind

I was driving home from work one day and spotted this:

Salvage yard fire

It turned out to be a salvage yard fire.

Salvage yard fire

I had never been this close to such a big fire and it was amazing to watch.

Salvage yard fire

No one was injured and no occupied structures were destroyed.

Salvage yard fire

It’s been a ridiculously mild fall here. We usually start getting snowstorms in October. It’s now December 12 and we haven’t had one snowstorm. It hasn’t even really snowed yet and it’s been quite warm. We even had a streak of 80 degree days in November. The dogs and I took advantage of that heatwave to hike our favorite spot.

Luka

The dogs enjoy the view

There are not many picture from that hiking trip. This is because a couple of miles into the hike I fell and twisted the hell out of my ankle. I’ve had a lot of ankle sprains in my life (I am a bit of a klutz) but this is the worst one (by far). I couldn’t walk the dogs at all for two weeks.

It’s now five weeks after The Fall. Recovery has been steady, but slow. I’m able to walk the dogs 4-5 days a week and for 40 minutes each time. (We usually walk 7 days a week for 60-90 minutes.) I’m not able to walk on uneven surfaces (only paved roads) so we haven’t even been able to go to the dog park. I’m hoping to be back at the dog park by the end of this month and back to hiking sometime next spring.

Since my walking is limited I’ve been amusing myself by taking pictures of the dogs. Sadie is absolutely adorable when she sleeps.

Sleeping Sadie

Sadie

Sadie snuggling toy

Luka hasn’t been left out of the picture taking:

Luka boy

Luka loves sleeping in his crate even when the dog bed isn’t in it (it was being washed):

Luka loves his crate

My boy is very photogenic.

Luka

Finally, if you love dogs, go here and enjoy a laugh along with Tank (although I’m not sure she’s laughing).   For her sake, I hope this winter is a short one.  :)

8 responses

  1. Nice to have you back blogging! Hope your ankle will be O.K. soon. The dogs are lovely as usual. Nice pictures overall, and very interesting about the costumes!

  2. I was wondering where you’ve been, hope your ankle is feeling better soon!

    Our dog used to sleep on the couch like Sadie, one foot dangling off (he passed back in October, he had a brain tumor). Luka is so adorable and fluffy! I love the third picture of him.

  3. okay SRSLY Sadie could NOT be a cuter dog while sleeping. just so ADORABLE!!!
    and Luka is just a very very fotogenic fellow. absolutely smashing as always.
    :o) and i hope you continue to heal–i’m so sorry to hear about that!!! take care xoxo.

  4. p.s. love the snowflakes on the blog and also LOVE the basset and the boots.
    srsly. LOVE IT!!! :)

  5. Oh my, five weeks is a long time, I am glad you are better now. Enjoy the heat wave, you’ll probably get to wear this gorgeous new pair of socks soon enough.

  6. I love the pics, especially of the dogs. I think it’s so cool that you saw a dress worn by Vivien Leigh, from Gone With The Wind! Like you, I was shocked to learn it was made from corduroy (a word I had to scroll back up to it’s use in your post to know how to spell!).

    I was in your neck of the woods over Thanksgiving. My daughter recently relocated from England to the Springs, and we spent nearly a week with her. On the one hand, I was disappointed that I didn’t get to see a good snowstorm, but on the other hand, it was beautiful weather for walking our dogs while we were there, without having to worry about them tracking up the house when we got back from our walks. ;-)

  7. Those doggy faces, just want to smooch on them and give them belly rubs :)

  8. The puppies look adorable as always!

    Hope your ankle finishes healing quickly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.